Getting started with Google Map APIs

Google Maps for Android

Google Maps for Android (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

New project has to do with placing markers on a map and managing these markers (add, retrieve, view, update, delete).

I never did a project with maps. So let’s get started.  Starting point is google documentation.

https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/android/start#getting_the_google_maps_android_api_v2

1. Looks like I have to generate a key  that will be used during dev process. And later generate release key.

2. Followed instructions and received a 40 char key for using google map APIs v2 and geolocation API.  This involved creating a project and reading licenses.

https://code.google.com/apis/console/?noredirect&pli=1#project:940879255152:access

3. Next fundamental step is to read about MAP on google play services  http://developer.android.com/google/play-services/maps.html

My goal is to find a working running example that I can use as a starting point.

4. Before doing step 3 I have to do step  4. Setup google play services sdk

http://developer.android.com/google/play-services/setup.html

5. Downloaded sample project from google play API.  Running this project requires to put in my own key. 30 min after this still doesn;t run. Research.

HERE: in case of error with the key i have to uninstall and clear data from the device.  Learned hard (semi) way.

Ok, sample project is working. One glitch remains: My location is never initialized. I have to tap my location icon to make it to go where I am otherwise I am in (0, 0).

 

 

Leave a Reply

